On Saturday morning the Superior restaurant and confectionery will re-open for business after being closed for a few weeks during which time the interior was refleporated and many other improvements carried out. The business is now under new management– Messrs Arthur (Dinty) and Edward Scott, two Almonte boys, having purchased the goodwill and equipment from Mr. Len McMullen.
Peterson Brothers started this business when the building was erected on Mill S treet in 1921. At that time it was a confectionery catering to the candy, fruit and ice cream trade. In 1933 Mr. Peterson, then the sole partner of the firm in Canada sold out to Claude Sylvah of Smiths Falls, who selected the name “Superior” and carried on very successfully for six years when he sold to Mr. Harold A. Robinson and concentrated his interests in the “Candy Kitchen” Smiths Falls. Read-It Started in the Candy Kitchen Restaurant– Kerfoot Fire Smiths Falls
He was afterwards killed while in the R. C.A.F. flying over enemy territory in Europe. In 1943 Mr. Robinson disposed of his business to Mr. Len McMullen who came here from Windsor. He conducted the Superior until a few weeks ago when he sold to the Scott brothers. Mr. Arthur Scott is a man of long experience in the kind of business be has acquired.
He started in the store under Mr. Peterson and continued with Messrs Sylvah and Robinson. In the fall of 1940 he went to Fort William where he was with the C.N.R, express until his return here a short time ago. His brother Edward was with the Dominion Stores for five years which is a good experience for any man going into the food or confectionery retail business. The Scott boys are natives of Almonte being sons of Mr. and Mrs. Harvey Scott, Malcolm St. It is the intention of the partners to carry on the business as in the past. Their advertisement appears on page eight of this issue.
November, 1947 Almonte Gazette
Did you know the Carleton Place connection??
Ted HurdisMr. Robinson (Sandy) married my aunt Thelma Blakeley and later built and ran The Ideal Candy and Smoke Shop in Carleton Place. Aunt Thelma worked at the Superior and that’s where they met.–Memories of the Ideal Candy Shop
In 1919, Louis Peterson began operating an ice cream store on Mill Street In 1924 he moved into the old Baird’s Mill site on the river, adjacent to the former Victoria Woollen Mill. In 1948, the Superior Restaurant moved into an existing storefront at 84 Mill Street, where it continues to operate today.